I'm a pilot - help me find some new flashlights

midwestpilot

Newly Enlightened
OK, so I am new here, and not really a "flashaholic" or up to date on all of the current lights out there. When I fly (recreationally, not commercially), I carry three lights - two A2 Aviators with red LED's, and one old Arc 4+. I love the Arc because I can keep the LED on the lowest setting (which must be less than one lumen), and I use this inside the cockpit at night when I want a soft light that won't kill my night vision. The light stays on this setting when I turn it off, and that is a big benefit. The Aviators are incredible incandescent lights, but I find the LED's to really be too strong for night use in the cockpit. I have not tried the ones with other color LED's, but I am guessing they are as bright as the reds, which I find to be too much. So, I'd like to know of some recommendations for a light which has; a) at least two brightness levels, one of which can be very low; b) whatever setting is last used is retained when the light is turned back on; and c) the high setting is very bright. Having a bright light is essential for looking for ice buildup on the wings and leading edges while flying through clouds, and the A2 is amazing at that. The A2's brightness and ability to illuminate far-away objects has come in very handy when navigating around dark airports. If I could simply get those LED's to be dimmer, it would be the ideal light, I suppose. Any recommendations greatly appreciated. THANKS

Edit - price is not a concern.

Last edited:

scottm

Newly Enlightened
Can you settle for one walkaround light and one cockpit light? I used to have a 2xAA light that changed from white to red filter when I pulled the lense forward. That was great in the cockpit, but inadequate for seeing the tail of a 767. I carried a 4xC-cell Maglight for a while, not for brightness, but for self-defense in 3rd-world layover hotels. TSA threatened to take my 4C Maglight and I switched to a 3C.