Flashlights & security officers

jusval

Enlightened
I'm a non comissioned security officer, so I don't carry a weapon. I work night shift in an area that has some crime. I make rounds in a very large warehouse. It is not a closed warehouse, meaning anyone can walk right in through overhead doors. I spend time in a guard shack as well. It's outside of the warehouse and is not really well lit.

My question is about what type of flashlight (or flashlights) to carry?

First - I want something that really lights up the warehouse (it's not well lit & not lit at all in some areas). I want to be able to beam down an aisle and see 100-200 feet with a beam that spreads out (like a flood beam). I currently have a Brinkmann Halogen/L.E.D. Spotlight and it's BRIGHT, but of course it will go dim in about 5 minutes. I need more longevity.....

Second - would it be good to have a smaller light with a narrow intense beam for purposefully blinding someone, to keep them at bay for a few seconds and keep them from seeing me clearly? I would think that type of light might give me enough of a chance to decide if I need to reach for mace or a baton. It also might discourage the person enough to just get out, so I don't have to have a confrontation..... How many lumes does it take to temporarily disorientate/blind someone?

As usual cost is always a factor so I would appreciate some thoughts on good flashlights and then some thoughts on the cheaper ones (like the ebay chinese knock offs) as well.....

Also LED vs a regular bulb as far as longevity and stability from the inevitable drop or dings/nicks that are going to happen.

Thanks in advance for helping........

Last edited:

Bruce B

Enlightened
Surefire G2 LED. Nice 80 lumens of bright light with a 12 hour runtime.

I have one on the way and look forward to using it on the job.

LukeA

Flashlight Enthusiast
Pelican 7060 or 8060. The 7060 was originally designed for the LAPD. The 8060 is its bigger sibling.