need some help

• Thread starter **DONOTDELETE**
  • Start date
D

**DONOTDELETE**

Hi, I'm a newbie here and a little flustered with all of the information I've stumbled on here, so I was hoping that somebody could guide me a little. I'm looking for a replacement for my Mini-Mag AA. I need something that's around the same size, but brighter and has a longer battery life. It also needs to be focusable and water resistant (worried about rain getting too it). Lastly, I don't want to spend too much money on it because, well, I'm not willing to spend something like $100 on a flashlight (yet
wink.gif
!) Thanks.

Saaby

Flashaholic
You don't need to replace it, you need to Opalec it. Basically you spend $30 on this thing that comes to your door. When it gets there you take it out of it's plastic baggie and take the head off your Mag. Then you take out the bulb and pop off that black plastic disk and pop the Opalec in, easy as pie!

Others here can explain it better etc. etc. as I do not yet have a Minimag with Opalec conversion.

And since that only costed you $30 and your budget is $100 (
wink.gif
) you might as well pick up an Arc AAA flashlight to be with you 24/7/365...no man, woman, or child is complete without one!

By the way, welcome to CPF...I'm Saaby

Starlight

Enlightened
Hi glowstick. Sorry, you can't have your cake and eat it too. If you stay with AA alkaline cells in a minimag it is impossible to have brighter and longer lasting at the same time. The amount of light you get is based on the output of the batteries you use. Brighter is always a trade off for long lasting.

If you want brighter and about the same size, try a surefire E2. They're about $70, significantly brighter, but use fairly expensive batteries.

If you want longer lasting, you need an led conversion without regulation. The regulated led lights will increase output, but once again at the expense of run time.

Saaby

Flashaholic