Minor E2DL annoyance

ja10

Enlightened
I noticed today that if I set my E2DL down on the tail cap with any sort of enthusiasm, it changes modes. I'm not slamming it down, but just giving it a moderate tap.

I haven't seen this issue posted before - does this happen to anyone else? In all fairness, it happens more often with my RCRs which must be just a hair shorter, but it will do it with primaries as well.

Any suggestions? I tried pulling the spring a bit to give more tension, but that didn't do much.

Last edited:

milox

Newly Enlightened
Same happens with my e2dl, there was a discussion about this earlier
dont know if there is a solution to this problem.

ja10

Enlightened
I will take a look and see if I can find that thread - do you remember the title?

I would have guessed that the SF engineers would have put some sort of minimum delay before switching modes. If clicks had to be 100ms apart, I bet that would probably prevent this from happening. I'm no engineer, so maybe the electronics can't handle very fine timing, but it seems silly to me.

The other odd thing is that it easily switches from High to Low, but it takes a heavier tap to get it to go from Low to High.

abarraga86

Newly Enlightened
I haven't noticed this yet, I'll give it a check and get back to you...

ja10

Enlightened
I emailed SF. I couldn't find the previous thread, but we'll see if they come back with anything.

If anyone knows of the previous thread(s) where this was discussed, let me know.

1996alnl

Enlightened
Doesn't happen with mine at all...don't have a clue what could cause this.

ja10

Enlightened
I think what's happening is that the momentum of the batteries are compressing the spring, causing a split second break in contact with the head. Without some sort of minimum time between clicks, the light will always change modes.