New Guy Impressed and Admitted Addict

DC Plumber

Newly Enlightened
I just discovered this forum. I lurked for about 1 week and could resist no more. I like flashlights, alot. My wife laughed when I showed her an ad that called them "illumination tools". I think it was a Surefires ad, not sure though.

None the less, I couldn't stay away. All posts seemed very professional, friendly and with truely good intentions. The one post that got me to sign up was an old one written by someone asking what to get their plumber as a gift. Then I thought, hey, maybe I have something to offer. I am a plumber.

My light history: I've always liked gadgets, including flashlights. In the late 80's or early 90's, my dad bought me a Maglight 2D. I still have it and it has been used tons, though it has been converted to LED.

I have: a 2D Mag LED by my bedside, a 2D Mag LED in my personal vehicle, a Rayovac 3 watt 2AA LED as backup in my plumbing truck, and a Surefire G2 next to my Kimber 45 in the gun safe. My wife has 2C Mag LED on her side of the bed and a Rayovac 3 watt 2AA LED in her personal vehicle.

I like the Mags because they are easy to grab in your sleep when you need a light. I dislike the G2 because of the 123 batteries and the 1 hr. run time.

My main flashlight in my plumbing truck is a Milwaukee ?? volt lithium ion rechargable light that casts a nice flood. I am the service plumber and spend a lot of time in dark or poorly lit places. Most jobs are 1 hr. or less and it doesn't warrant a plug in light, so my Milwaukee gets tons of use. I've never gone a day without using a flashlight at work.

So, what do I want? Cool factor, tough, reliable, bright, something my peers won't have, something I can throw in my pocket whenever, it might reside next to my 380 acp, who knows. I do like the Surefire line of light.

I have little technical lighting knowledge, but will always offer my opinion in good taste.

Thanks for reading.

Sgt. LED

Flashaholic
Welcome to the forum!