Fenix TK20 vs. Task Force 2C Cree: THROW

L.E.D.

Enlightened
Hey, for anyone who has both these lights, does the TK20 outthrow the TF2CC when it's on the 150 lm turbo mode?

Stress_Test

Flashlight Enthusiast
I haven't tried the two side by side outdoors, but I've taken them each out with me while running at night. They seem to throw about the same.

Somebody told me that the lux values are rougly equal.

I might be able to get some outdoor shots this weekend if it'll ever stop raining...

L.E.D.

Enlightened
Awesome, thanks for the info Stress Test. Considering various beamshots, it seems like the TK20 also has a tighter beam than the 8 degree beam on the TF..

rockz4532

Enlightened
just a noob here, but if the TF2C has a larger optic than the tk20, then doesnt it have more throw? i dont think the tk20 has the throw of a magled, before considering the TF2c

Stress_Test

Flashlight Enthusiast
Awesome, thanks for the info Stress Test. Considering various beamshots, it seems like the TK20 also has a tighter beam than the 8 degree beam on the TF..

I'd agree with that. The TF does seem to have a wider spill beam, I'm guessing due to the led being closer to the surface of the lens in the columnator (how the heck do you spell it??!)

Stress_Test

Flashlight Enthusiast
just a noob here, but if the TF2C has a larger optic than the tk20, then doesnt it have more throw? i dont think the tk20 has the throw of a magled, before considering the TF2c

I've got a Mag Led 3D, and it out throws the TF, which probably means it out throws the TK20 also, but I haven't compared those two side by side before. If I remember right, lux on the 3D is ~7500, the TK20 is ~6100 (per flashlightreviews and light-reviews).

It should be noted that it's MUCH easier to actually see at night with the TF or TK20, because there are much more lumens hitting everywhere and not just in the center spot.

PS: Stand by for some quick indoor beamshots tonight

Stress_Test

Flashlight Enthusiast