Build or Buy? Multi Cree.

electric sheep

Enlightened
I am very new to this world and like all my interests i am becoming slightly obsessive. I now want a compact 700+ Lumen's set up for wild camping and domestic carry/use. It must be running on a high energy density rechargeable battery and have multiple settings for Max and min outputs. Looking at the Wolf Eyes again as they have a number of 700+ but i like the idea of a custom. Question is should i buy one or try and build one?
I understand the basis premise of Mag D cell conversion but not sure if i would be better of getting one that someone has made well and at a later date attempting my own having the benefit of seeing how it should be done. How would i approach to build me one? What cost am i looking at? Or should i go for a factory Jobie?

Jarl

Flashlight Enthusiast
Build!!! :)

4x XR-E R2's, a 2D mag with 2x18650's* (AW), a shark boost driver (the sandwich shoppe), perfect quad emitter heatsink (4sevens or the sandwich shoppe), 4x reflectors (McRxxx's from the sandwich shoppe again, not sure how big you can go with a mag head), artic silver 5 (sandwich shoppe...), UCL lens (flashlightlens.com or something like that). Think that's everything! Don't forget to do some resistance fixes on the mag switch as well (search it).

*you need to cut down the tailcap spring. I think new ones the correct length for 2x18650 are available somewhere.....

yellow

Flashlight Enthusiast
thats the best but also the most expensive mod (because of the reflectors. Visuably better than anythinge else, but costy)

only thing I would change is the host. No Mag and then waste space by puttin 1865s in.
Get a light from dealextreme that is made for 2 18650s and mod the rest with the parts mentionned.
(probably You like that light in original state already. Much worse than when modded, but ...)