Question about "homemade" LEDs for Medical Use

R

RyanJ

Question about \"homemade\" LEDs for Medical Use

Hey all,
I'm a medical researcher working for a Canadian hospital, and I was hoping that I could get some help from the group's collective expertise. I am attempting to construct a camera system that tracks the location of LED markers during surgery. I've been going crazy trying to find a decent LED to use in the markers that satisfies the following criteria:

-Has to be peak wavelength around 630nm give or take 10nm
-Has to have a small enough current/voltage to run off of a couple of dry cells, probably watch batteries
-Has to be "small enough" to be unobtrusive during surgery, preferably smaller than a dime
-Has to have a fairly wide viewing angle (basically the wider the better, preferably over 50 degrees)
-Has to be BRIGHT! I've tried LEDs as bright as 1000mcd and they're still far too dim. Basically the LED needs to have a visible glow from about 4 feet away (the distance to the cameras). I'm still waiting for my 12000mcd LEDs to arrive so hopefully they'll be bright enough, but in this case the better is brighter.

So that's my difficult task. Does anyone feel like tackling a biomedical engineering dilemma? I'm looking for any ideas for an LED that might be appropriate, and where I might find them? Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks guys,
Ryan Janssen

InTheDark

Enlightened
Re: Question about \"homemade\" LEDs for Medical Use

Might want to check out an red/orange Luxeon (no optics) running off a single 123 cell. Would give you near 180 degree light for hours. Or get a Photon or Innova microlight and try sanding the lens to diffuse the light to see if that's bright enough.

Can I ask how is the camera going to track the LED? Sounds really interesting.

Entropy

Enlightened

[ QUOTE ]
RyanJ said:
Hey all,