HELP! What do you think about this?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbarin

Flashlight Enthusiast
Barbolight company spent more than 40.000 US$ developing and patenting our reflective wand.

Now a chinese brand -OLIGHT- has released this. I'm sure it is not a coincidence. They make great lights, so I don't know why they would like to damage their good name...

How would you proceed? Any recomendations?

Thanks for your input.

Javier

kramer5150

Flashaholic
Is the patent registered or is it merely pending? AFIAK there is a difference between the two, the former being protected by law (US law that is). I would contact your patent attorney, and see what they have to say.

I am not a lawyer though, so.. .heck what to I know.

If I were a designer or product developer I (for one) would try and keep manufacturing domestic, and stick with domestic parts suppliers whenever possible. That way at the very least they can be controlled by domestic patent laws. Its clear that overseas fabrication houses have no morals/ethics when it comes to this kind of thing, they think nothing of cloning and even using the same tooling to manufacture cloned products.

In short... I would pull whatever tooling (heat staking, vacuum forming, cutting tools...etc...) you have located overseas and bring it back to domestic fabrication houses, that way you can enforce domestic law. Hopefully you own the tools and have legal rights to do that, and hopefully you can accomplish that before the clone company can clone the tooling & manufacturing process. If your clone-supplier owns the tool (financially has paid for it)... I think your hosed.