Rechargeable batteries OK in Fenix PD20?

Mrak

Newly Enlightened
Greetings I'm new to this hope for some straight answers. I ordered what looks to be a sweet light, the Fenix pd20. Subsequent to ordering I have read about some issues with this light and RECHARGEABLE rcv123a batteries. My questions are: Will this battery work correctly with this light.? If not will it damage the light or just fail to fully exploit the capabilities of the light? As in no turbo performance. I purchased the whole system based on the use of rechargeable batteries, in order to be "green" as much as save money. Am I sol or . . .?

Last edited by a moderator:

DM51

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF, Mrak.

I've changed the title of your thread from "Battery questions", as your query is specific to the Fenix PD20.

Mrak

Newly Enlightened
Cheers. Thanks for the edit. Still looking for a solid answer. In the mean time I've ordered a Nitecore Ex10 which specifically states that it can use Rcv123's. I'm moving up from an Inova x1 to 123's! A new $! hobby!

Hitthespot

Flashlight Enthusiast
The PD20 will use the RCR123 however you will loose all modes except for Turbo, and your right, it is a sweet light!

Welcome to CPF.

Happy Holidays

Bill

Last edited:

mr.snakeman

Enlightened
I´ve got three different RCR123A batteries that I use in my various lights: AWs black protected at 3.7v., Tenergys blue at 3.0v. and AWs blue LiFePO4 at 3.0v.. In my P2D (whch I think has the same regulation circuitry that the PD20 has) the 3.7v. batteries are useable but do not allow one to use all the General Mode settings (light intensity stays the same), whereas both the 3.0v. do. Hope this answers your question, and by the way,:welcome:

mdocod

Flashaholic
There have been reports of people frying their P2Ds on 3.7V cells, which translates to "it could also happen with a PD20."

If you wind up getting some 3.0V cells for it, please make sure you use the right charger with the right cells.

Eric

Nake