Surefire 6P and 6PL Questions

JOHNNY-FLASH

Newly Enlightened
Newbie here with some questions. Is there any difference between the 6P and the 6PL other than light source ? Is every thing else exactly the same ? I am thinking about getting the 6P and then get a M60W that I have read about. Just not sure if the 6PL is built better in some way , stronger body , better glass , better switch , etc. etc. THANKS.

lightinsky

Enlightened
There is no difference between the 6P and 6PL other than the light source being used.

Bullzeyebill

Flashaholic
Other than light source, the only difference between the two is the use of a Lexan window in the 6PL bezel. You might say that the 6P is more solid, using a Pyrex window, which can withstand high temp if you are using a incan light source, and will resist scratches better than Lexan.

Bill

Lightingguy321

Enlightened
The 6PL uses a pyrex window. The G2L uses (i think) Lexan, I have one in front of me and judging by the fact that it didn't get scratched when I used my T-shirt to clean the dust off, it might be coated Lexan or maybe Pyrex.

SimpleIsGood229

Newly Enlightened
A friend's 6PL came with a Pyrex window. I've even seen a G3L with Pyrex window. From what I can tell, Surefire seems to be moving toward all-Pyrex.

That said, I think you'll be very pleased with the Malkoff/Surefire combo.

choaticwhisper

Enlightened
Yes you should be very happy with the combo. Depending how you would like to carry it, I would say go ahead and look for a clip of some sort, Or the lanyard ring, its just nice to have.

NotRegulated

Flashlight Enthusiast
I just setup a a guy at work by purchasing a standard 6P and then ordering a Malkoff M60 for it. Go with the 6P since the price is substantially less than the 6P LED and you will be replacing the bulb anyway.