Fenix and Rechargeables

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chewy

Newly Enlightened
Hey Gang-

What can you tell me about Fenix and rechargeable batteries? I'm new to this, but I think I have a few things figured out.

I have L1D and P2D. For the L1D, I am going with standard NiMH AA batteries by Energizer or Duracell. No worries about mixing old and new since it's a one cell light. Good to go.

Now, for the P2D, I've ordered the RB100 head from Eliteled.com. I've got a couple primaries lying around for taking care of it up front, but I've read that Fenix doesn't recommend rechargeables.

So, Question #1 is Is that true?:shrug:

And Question #2, If that is true and I need to stick to primaries, what brand to you guys recommend? :wave:I see cheaper ones called Battery Station and Energizer EL and Streamlight, but I don't see capacities, dependability, explosion rates (ha ha) listed.

(I've got about $40 to blow on whatever.):party:

Last edited:

wesinator

Newly Enlightened
I would stick with primaries, you can buy them in bulk and they'll be pretty cheap. you can actually buy like thirty primaries for the price of a charger and a few rcr123a. And primaries have about twice the capacity of rechargeable. and they don't blow up or short circuit your flashlight. so unless you plan on using hundreds of cr123s i think primaries are better.

AardvarkSagus

Flashlight Enthusiast
Wouldn't the nice LiFePO4 3.0V rcr's work just fine in the Fenix? The only issue would be that you would have to monitor them yourself to make sure they didn't go below 2V and damage the cell. At least they wouldn't go kabloey however...

deranged_coder

Enlightened
For CR123A batteries I have tried using Surefire, Energizer, Panasonic, Battery Station and Rayovac cells before and never had any issues. :shrug: