Make my Led Lenser P7 better?

Art

Enlightened
Hi,
Im a noob to flash lights and specially to its electronics but I would like to know if I can make my Led Lenser P7 use a P7 led and possibly make it have regulated output.
The idea is to have a better light for more throw and possible better runtime.

Any ideas? Will it be difficult to dissipate the heat of a P7 led? Where can I buy it?

Also , can I do a simple mod so I can pump out of a stock LL P7 led like 50% more(even if it burns after some hours)?

Regards and happy new year :twothumbs

Edit: Lets forget the P7 idea... any help on modding this light?

Last edited:

Art

Enlightened
Re: Make my Led Lenser P7 a real P7?

Nothing?
Not even an idea for a led swap?

Regards,

Gunner12

Flashaholic

First off the Seoul P7 LED probably won't fit in the optic designed for the Cree XR-E LED.

Then you won't get more throw since the P7 has 4x the emitting area of the current LED in the LL P7. Think 4 Seoul P4s wired in parallel in a single package.

It won't be a simple mod.

Fallingwater

Flashlight Enthusiast

The P7 runs on four AAAs. There is no way in hell you're going to be able to run a quad-die LED such as a SSC P7 at anything close to full power (or even half for that matter) from four AAAs.

You could presumably mod the light with an aftermarket driver and drive the existing LED harder, but again the problem is in the power source: four AAAs have too little energy combined to give decent runtimes at high current draw.

The easiest, cheapest and definitely least stressful path if you want something more powerful is to head over to dealextreme and find yo'self a powerful light for not much money.

Last edited:

clg0159

Enlightened

The P7 runs on four AAAs. There is no way in hell you're going to be able to run a quad-die LED such as a SSC P7 at anything close to full power (or even half for that matter) from four AAAs.