Question from newb on Dorcy flashlight

StumpWater

Newly Enlightened
Complete newb here. Tried to post this a couple days or so ago, but can't seem to find it now. Apologies if this is a duplicate post.

Any experience with or opinions regarding this flashlight?:

http://www.brightguy.com/products/Dorcy_180_Lumen_Submersible_LED_Light.php

180 Lumens and submersible would be a good combination for me. I've seen Dorcy lights in Target (I think) before and, honestly, can't say that the surface impression was all that great. Didn't seem all that solidly built. I haven't used one, though, so am not really confident in that opinion.

While I have you, what about brightguy.com, any experience with them as a vendor?

Additional ideas/suggestions regarding flashlights with similar levels of light output that are also waterproof would be welcome. (Waterproof not 100% necessary, but would be ideal).

Thanks,
StumpWater

StumpWater

Newly Enlightened
My use of this or another flashlight: I'm out in swamps and other wet areas pretty often at night.

I found another thread that gave pretty good reviews to a different Dorcy flashlight (a 220 lumen, non-waterproof light).

Thanks for any feedback you or others can give on this flashlight, Dorcy overall, brightguy.com, or other good internet light vendors.

farmer17

Newly Enlightened
For that price I would probably get something else and would also stay away from AAA lights. I would recommend a Fenix AA or Cr123 light.

JBorneu

Enlightened
Get this, this or this light instead. Much better price-quality ratio, will last longer on a set of batteries, Fenix quality and waterproof enough for use in swamps. Just don't click the switches when the light is submerged and you'll be fine.

DavyBoy4

Newly Enlightened
I agree with fenix lights i have the tk11 myself and is a very good light with not bad run-times i run mine on 1 18650 even low mode is bright enough outdoors when u r in total darkness and max mode puts out 225 lumens.