Defective D20?

One2gofst

Newly Enlightened
I just received my new D20 today. I've never owned a light with the Smart PD before. However, I am afraid something might be amiss with the light.

Just FYI, I am running it on fresh eneloops.

The instant switching is no problem. However sometimes when I press and hold to ramp up or down the brightness, the light flickers sometimes turning off and coming back on at a diferent brightness level.

When I twist the head for momentary mode I run into similar issues, obviously without the ramping, just flickering off momentarily then coming back at a different brightness.

I am no expert but it seems like it is not making good contact. Is there something simple I can do or do I need to send it back.

deranged_coder

Enlightened
I think the most common cause of flickering is dirty contacts. :shrug:

Have you tried disassembling the light and cleaning all of the contact points with something like Deoxit?

My NiteCore D10 did the flickering thing as well when I first got it. After disassembling, cleaning, re-lubing and reassembling the light, it has worked flawlessly so hopefully it is just an issue with dirty contacts.

One2gofst

Newly Enlightened
Well, I don't have any Deoxit. I used some alcohol. It seems better but still not 100%. Basically I wiped the positive center and negative ring in the head. is there any place else I should be hitting?

deranged_coder

Enlightened
See if you can clean out the spring contact in the piston as well.

Deoxit is great for cleaning contacts, if you can get some. Most electronics stores should carry it, and it's available in spray form, pen form, wipes, liquid, etc. I usually start with Deoxit Red, then follow up with Deoxit Gold. Alcohol should probably work fine but I am not sure how well alcohol compares to a purpose-formulated contact cleaner like Deoxit. :shrug:

One2gofst

Newly Enlightened