Inexpensive LED homemade lamp for outdoor wedding

webcompanion

Newly Enlightened
Hi all - I've had some experience with Cree LEDs and using driver circuits to power a bike light I've made with great results thanks to much info I found here. Now I would like to design some simple and inexpensive LED lamps for my wedding in about 6 months, so I have some time... We are having an outdoor wedding which will end after dark and there's no electricity at this site so we will be using some candles. I also want to use some of those Asian style paper lanterns and light them up using LED's. What I care about most is that they are relatively bright. I was thinking a 2-3 AA battery powered LED light or set of lights that would last at least a couple hours or more using alkaline batteries.

I want to build at least a dozen or more of these types of lights and put them in the lanterns and hang them from the tent we'll have. I'm open to all kinds of ideas at this point. I've used the AA battery powered 30 LED light strands from Deal Extreme and really liked the light from them, so this idea for these lanterns could incorporate that or do something with Cree or other style LEDs. Thanks!

Yucca Patrol

Enlightened
You might want to consider this DX "camping" light to put in your paper lanterns. I use these to illuminate scenes for cave photography and they are very bright with CREE emitters. I'd guess somewhere around 60-100 lumens or so. These are MUCH MUCH MUCH brighter than similar puck lights.

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.3297

Sylvania now makes a golden dragon version (called the dot-it golden dragon) that is almost certainly higher quality and similarly priced, but I am not so sure that the automatic cut-off of the sylvania will not be a problem for you (but I haven't bought one yet to test for my cave photography). Perhaps that feature can be disabled?

http://www.sylvania.com/ConsumerProducts/LightsActionDOTit/GoldenDragon/

Congrats to you and your fiance!