P7 Battery Advice

Dan Harris

Newly Enlightened
Gentlemen:

I need your advice in selecting the right battery configuration to power a direct drive P7 in a Mag 2C or 2D

I can build things, but I'm a noob when discussing batteries more complex than a CR123 or Eneloop! I just built a 2D ROP using a 6AA>2D adapter and while it's a hoot playing with at the dock, I need much better run time.

This will be a serious duty light, used in a marine environment, so reliability, simplicity and rechargability are the goals. Staying with the 2 cell length gives a good compromise with portability and "impactfullness."

I would like to stay away from unregulated cells or ones with a propensity to go poof, boom or bang! Ease of reloading in the field is important, as I dropped a partially loaded 6AA>2d adapter while putting in new cells. Eneloops do not float in salt water! :shakehead

I will need 2 sets and a charger. Estimated run times would be very helpful. Also, if alkalines can be used in an emergency, that would be a big plus.

CPF is an incredible source of knowledge and I thank you all for sharing!

Dan

Gunnerboy

Enlightened
I believe you can only direct drive a P7 with one li-ion cell, unless the multiple li-ion cells are in parallel configuration. For multiple li-ions in series, you'll need a buck-converter.

How about a Mag2D running two of AW's protected C-cells using one of member Der Wichtel's P7 buck converters? The extra length of those cells plus the buck circuit may not fit in the shorter Mag2C.

You can direct drive a P7 with three NiMH cells in series.

I know you want to build it yourself, but member ElektroLumens sells a ready to use direct drive P7 in a Mag3D designed for three NiMH, but will run on alkalines if needed.

Cheers,
Gary

gswitter

Flashlight Enthusiast