Boring a Surefire Z2 Combat to take 18650 - where do I go?

DHart

Flashlight Enthusiast
Can anyone suggest a good source for boring my Z2 to accept 18650 cell? Is this a risky or potentially crazy idea to do? I'm thinking about installing an M60 style P7 emitter in my Z2 combat and it sounds like the ability to use an 18650 with this set-up might be a good idea... I'm a newbie, so please pardon my ignorance... I'm learning as quickly as I can. :sssh:

gsegelk

Newly Enlightened
Definitely do some searches on here...I recently looked into boring options for a C2 but people are saying there's not a whole lot to work with...I know it's a totally different light but still. Also, it might depend on what size 18650 you need it bored out for since there are slight variations in diameter.

There are plenty of custom tubes you can look into if boring doesn't work out. Check the BST forum for FiveMega for one option...

DHart

Flashlight Enthusiast
Thank you.... I think perhaps I'll leave my SF body alone and buy a separate tube and just swap it in between my head and tailcap... then there's no worry about messing up the SF body. Thanks again.

Bullzeyebill

Flashaholic
Not a lot of inside diameter with the reduced body of the Z2. I did have my M3 (actually L6 body, same size) bored for unprotected 18500's and 18650's with bored A19, and would not want to go any larger to fit protected 18650's.

Bill

DHart

Flashlight Enthusiast