Nitecore Extreme GDP Problems

macjmillsx

Newly Enlightened
Hello All,

This post will also serve as a howdy and introduction for myself. I frequent the knife and blade forums most often, but have ended up here with a question.

I just received a Nitecore Extreme GDP model today. It is my first flashlight, so that being said I am a complete N00b and Layman regarding flashlights.

I am hoping to impart upon the knowledge of you fine folks here on CPF!

So as I mentioned, I just received this light today. It looks and worked great! I say worked because I am having some problems.

When I got the light it was bright and worked well. I could quickly loosen then tighten the head to enter strobe and repeat to exit without issue. Later in the day I was playing with the light and got it to enter the variable mode where it ramps down by loosening the head slightly, and that is where I remain. I have tried to follow the instructions to ramp the light back up to max to no avail.

I am willing to concede that with electronics sometimes there are duds and failures, but I am really hoping that it is just my bumbling user error that is the problem. I would really be peeved to have to send it back after having it for less than 6hrs!

Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated! It is a GDP model, and I don't know if that makes difference in the operation or propensity to fail?

Thanks so much!

-macj

Last edited:

JBorneu

Enlightened
When you're in user-adjustable mode you have to quickly tighten and loosen the bezel again to switch the direction of ramping. If that doesn't work your light could be defective.

BabyDoc

Flashlight Enthusiast