LED drop-in for SF G2 used for hunting

cernobila

Flashlight Enthusiast
A friend of a friend has contacted me to help him convert his stock G2 into a rechargeable LED light in a cost effective way, mainly used for hunting in deer country.

Even though I have over forty lights I still don't know much. So, any suggestions would be very welcome......I think he has already settled on a pair of AW 17670's (one spare) and the WF-139 charger with car adaptor. The main question is the LED drop-in.

Points that need to be considered;

To be either 3.7V only.....or 3.7V-6.0V. (He may carry primary cells as back-up)
To be mainly a thrower with good light output.
Single level only. (forgot to put this in originally)
Not too sure of the color of the beam. (I have no experience hunting with lights)
He does not mind if there is an acceptable gap between the head and body, as long as it works.
Then there is the question of heat, are there any differences in heat generation/dissipation between the various LED units?.....is this going to be a problem with all of them in the G2? (The light will be on for about one minute at a time)
The cost of the LED unit should be no more than about US$35.00.

Thank you for any input in advance. :)

Last edited:

FLT MEDIC

Newly Enlightened
My friend uses a DealExtreme sku 11836 single mode 117 to 225 lumens, 3.7 to 18v Cree R2 WC LED drop-in for his Surefire G2.

It's a pure white thrower with a small hotspot and sidespill.

There's no gap between the bezel/head and G2 body as long as you remove the provided large outer spring, remove the G2's batteries, replace the G2 bulb with the DX 11836 Cree R2 drop in, tighten the G2's bezel/head first, load batteries and then tighten the end cap/switch. If you don't remove the outer spring and don't remove the G2's batteries while changing into the Cree R2 LED drop in, there will sometimes be a gap between the G2's bezel/head and body.