EDC replacement for the L1 Cree

CalgaryGuy

Enlightened
I have been carrying my L1 Cree for about 18 months now. Surefire even announce that they'll replace the L1 with the LX1 (120/15 lumen).

Just 5 years ago, the only way to reach 60 lumen is to get 2 x 123 with an incadescent bulb. Now a single NiMH AA can produce 100 lumen with a good LED.

At this point, I'm open to a single AA because it's common When go hiking, I can have all my gear (gps, radio, etc...) run of AA. Same goes with airplane travel. 123 still have the ability to power the light twice as bright.

So I'm still debating, is it better to get an AA light or just stay with 123? At this time, I'm looking at the Fenix LD10 (1xAA) and PD20 (1x123) or should I get an AA that can use 14500 cell?

Suggestion or comment are welcome.

batman

Enlightened
The problem with the LEDs seems to be the size of the bezels getting larger and longer with each performance increase. The bezel is getting to be as long as if not longer than the body of the flashlight in many lights. Small increase in performance, huge loss in useful form factor. Just slap on more X at the expense of Y..??? Its like a company laying off 40 people so an obese executive can have another bonus check.

bigchelis

Flashlight Enthusiast
Its like a company laying off 40 people so an obese executive can have another bonus check.[/quote said:
Great analogy.

It is exactly what I noticed with my E1b. Side by side with my E1e the bodies down are about the same size. The bezel on the E1b is almost as big as the tube/tail. Still, I much rather carry and use the E1b.:twothumbs

Kestrel

Flashaholic
The problem with the LEDs seems to be the size of the bezels getting larger and longer with each performance increase.