Any good rechargeable (Lithium based?) flashlight?

jobol

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys,

I had enough of these 9.99$ rechargeable flashlight/spotlight (a big flashlight). They don't last 8 minutes on batteries, and the charge gets lost quickly even when the flashlight is not in use!

Now, I am a total newbie to flashlights. I was wondering if a rechargeable flashlight/spotlight existed with Lithium (I think) batteries that will hold the charge longer, and give me more than 8 minutes light?

And what is the difference with LED vs tradition flashlights? should I look for an LED one?

Thanks, I hope my post don't sound too stupid.

electric sheep

Enlightened
Might be some time before anyone helps you as most people would recommend a search but as a relative new boy myself i will try and help.
I use Lithium Ion batteries that can be charged hundreds of times. The two sizes i use are 18650 and 14500. Fenix, Dereelight, Nitecore and many others can use these or traditional batteries(primaries). The Lithium give high voltage and good energy density but many people like NiMh batteries that are lower voltage but easier to find and simpler to charge(lithium is not complicated but you need to know a few basic rules for safety). All the LED lights that use these batteries wil blow away your standard Maglight by a serious margin. they are small efficient and very bright. Fenix are cheap and well made but i prefer Dereelight and Wolf Eyes. search and you will find. LED's are efficient and very durable compared to incandescent but HID is in between with high durability and very bright but take time to warm up. HID is expensive and generally for very high output. Check out Fenix first and see what you think.

HKJ

Flashaholic
If your can use a flashlight where your take the batteries out to recharge, there is a wide selection.

Some brands to check: Fenix, Olight, Dereelight