Which LED to upgrade Streamlight Stinger LED?

Windex

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to the flashlight modding game, fortunately I do know my way around a soldering iron.

I have a Stinger LED which is currently rated at about 100 lumes. I would really like to "bump up" the power on it for duty use.

I would like to go as bright as possible keeping the runtime on the flashlight about the same. IIRC, the flashlight's specs for power are about the same as the TLR-1 flash light that I've seen other people on this forum mod.

I saw one person use this:
http://www.cpfmarketplace.com/mp/showthread.php?t=187355

However, it looks like that is an "older" unit.... is there a newer item that would be brighter? That unit would be around 200ish lumes driven on the streamlight stinger.

Then I saw this...
http://www.seoulsemicon.com/en/product/prd/zpowerLEDp7.asp

I'm guessing that I would not be able to run this on my flashlight, but holy crap that's a lot of lumes.

Windex

Newly Enlightened
Unfortunately, mine is not the HP

Would it still run well, even though it wouldn't be getting full power?

Gunner12

Flashaholic
Presuming that you have a current Streamlight Stinger LED, a simple LED swap won't get you too much more lumen.

The Seoul P7 is much larger then the Luxeon K2 TFFC used in the light(I'm presuming a TFFC K2 because most other "C4 LEDs" have that). It will be brighter because it will be more efficient but the much larger emitting surface also makes the hotspot much wider and much less throwy. It should run if you can fit it.

Windex

Newly Enlightened
Presuming that you have a current Streamlight Stinger LED, a simple LED swap won't get you too much more lumen.