Next-function mode? Me no like!

magician13134

Newly Enlightened
Hi, I'm very new to not only this site, but to flashlights in general... I just bought an UltraFire WF-502b and after a little battery trouble (protected 18650 have no little sticking-out-part grrrr!) which I was able to work around (with a dead button-cell battery completing the circuit in there) I have finally gotten to use it a bit. I REALLY like it, nice and bright, feels good (scratches a bit easily, though) BUT there's one thing I ABSOLUTELY hate. It's the whole [next-function] (edited to be what I meant) thing! Before this, the only light I've ever owned was a Fenix PD30, so I've never seen this before. I don't get it! Why would ANYONE EVER want this? If I'm in a dark situation and have to turn my flashlight off for a minute, I don't want it to be a blinding strobe the next time I turn it on! That's rediculous! Is there anyway to bypass this? Thanks!

Last edited:

Kiessling

Flashaholic
Re: Memory? Me no like!

You put a dead button cell in there to make contact? You know about the possible risks?

magician13134

Newly Enlightened

You put a dead button cell in there to make contact? You know about the possible risks?
No...? I guess that was a dumb thing to do? What could happen? (This may sound dumb, but...) At this point isn't it just a piece of metal? There's no charge in it...

And don't encourage me to buy new lights! I'm plenty addicted now as it is! (Is the PD60 similar to the PD30? I have that one... Is it just the 18650 version?)

kramer5150

Flashaholic

eeeasy.... just take a deep breath, just a little trouble shooting is all. hobbies are supposed to relieve stress.

Its probably a bad idea to use a dead cell like that. That module should have a small spring at the "+" terminal. If the spring is too short you could coil up a small segment of solid wire and solder it onto the spring to extend its length a little, in place of the dead cell.