ARC-AAA Premium (GS) - Turns on Intermittently

dclawyer

Newly Enlightened
I am new in these parts. Today I received a new ARC-AAA Premium GS flashlight. When I twist the head sometimes it turns on and sometimes it doesn't. I just emailed the company but thought I would post here. I will return it if I have to but I thought the experts here might help me solve this issue myself.

I'd be thankful for any help.

paulr

Flashaholic
If it's brand new and having problems, best is probably let Arc take care of it. They will probably respond to your email within a few days.

dclawyer

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for your response. I am going to send the flashlight back. For what I paid it should turn on and off without a problem. My new Fenix works flawlessly. I am disappointed.

greenLED

Flashaholic
:welcome: dclawyer

It's most likely an issue with dirty threads/contacts. I hate to do this, especially since this is your first post, but there's several threads on the Arc subforum with instructions on how to clean an ArcAAA, and also how to troubleshoot anything else.

If else fails, send it back. :)

Flying Turtle

Flashaholic
Like greenLED said. Take a Q-tip and some alcohol to all the threads and contact points. A pencil eraser for the bottom of the battery tube and head contact works well, too. They all have this problem eventually when oxidation builds up.

Geoff

nerdgineer

Flashlight Enthusiast
I don't know if the Arc AAA is still designed this way, but early head twisty lights like the Infinity Ultra and early Arc AAA used a roll crimp to hold the PCB in place. This could work loose with use and make for an iffy contact because the battery pushed in on the board.

FYI, a do it yourself fix for that would be to put small dents in the crimp which would dimple the inside and get a better contact. This was done by laying the head PCB up on a flat surface, putting a small screwdriver against the roll crimp at right angles and tapping it gently with something.