safe plastic for a copper heatsink?

js-lots

Newly Enlightened
I am modding my first flashlight and putting in a ssc-p7. I have a small copper heatsink that the pill will attached to with AA. I will be running it direct drive 18650. Is pvc safe to put inside the copper heatsink as a insulator between the + and - terminals or will it melt. What is safe? I am still learning, thanks for the help

PCC

Flashlight Enthusiast
I may be wrong but I don't think any plastic is conductive. The problems with plastics are the poor thermal conductivity and relatively low melting point compared to metal.

IMSabbel

Enlightened
Capacitance doesnt really matter either.

The real problem is thermal conductivity.
a 100um thick layer between led and heatsink will add >10 C/W to the thermal resistance (ballpark figure , i did the calculations a while ago).

Compared to this, it wont matter if the heatsink is copper, aluminium or any other metal.

EnabLED

Newly Enlightened
I have a small copper heatsink that the pill will attached to with AA. [...] Is pvc safe to put inside the copper heatsink as a insulator between the + and - terminals or will it melt. What is safe? I am still learning, thanks for the help

Perhaps you can clarify what you mean by "between the + and - terminals"? As others have noted, PVC is a poor thermal conductor so you do not want to use it between the hot LED and the cool case. It is, however, a good electrical insulator.

According to Wikipedia, PVC melts about 80 degrees C, which may be too low and so you may melt it, depending on where it is located and the rest of the heat path. Cree lists a maximum junction temperature of 145 degrees C, so even at ~10 degrees per Watt between junction and substrate, you could see a heat sink temperature over 100 degrees C.

js-lots

Newly Enlightened