NiteCore D10 with AW 14500 cells

oldpal

Enlightened
I have been using my D10 for two months with Eneloop cells. It works just fine in continuous mode: 1xC for on, 1xC for off, 2xC for min beam, 1xC+PH for max beam and PH for ramping. When I use AW 14500 cells, the light acts strangely. It works like normal in twisty mode. But in continuous mode, the 2xC and 1xC+PH actions work sometimes and sometimes don't work. The beam intensity ramping is very erratic. While trying to ramp, the light might go off or jump suddenly to max or min. I've tried loosening the head of the light, but it doesn't seem to have any effect. Has anyone else seen this effect with their D10s and 14500 cells? Thanks for any help.

Hugh

JasonH

Enlightened
I only use AW14500 in my D10 and it works fine, I'm assuming there's a defect in your driver perhaps.

Marduke

Flashaholic
Which of the AW 14500 cells do you have? IIRC, some 14500 batches are a bit too long for some lights, while some are fine. I forget which (new or older) is which.

oldpal

Enlightened
Which of the AW 14500 cells do you have? IIRC, some 14500 batches are a bit too long for some lights, while some are fine. I forget which (new or older) is which.

I just received them last week. They are black with a red stripe and say "IC Protection Built-In Li-Ion Rechargeable 3.7V 14500 750 mAh". They appear longer than the eneloops but I think that is due to the longer case on the AW14500. The distance between the terminals looks to be the same.

Thanks for responding.

Hugh

swrdply400mrelay

Enlightened
The AW's I use are fine with the D10. But when I use Ultrafire 14500's, I get the problems you're describing. I assume it's a dimension problem like Marduke said. However, I received mine about a month ago. Try cleaning the contact points on the light and re-lubing. I had your similar problem when I was using AA NiMHs, cleaned it, re-lubed the piston and it worked fine.

HTH

oldpal

Enlightened