Painting with light - Photo Project

Martin SH

Newly Enlightened
Whilst reading the Surefire Catalogue I was intrigued with a report on a National Geographic project. One of their photographers photographed Stonehenge with 15 M6 Guardian flashlights. As a photographer I have a similar project at the moment, but no where near that sort of budget! I have been using multiple flashes (What Americans call strobes).

There is a write up here on th National Geographic project: http://ngm.typepad.com/digital_photography/2008/05/shooting-stoneh.html

In the article the photographer also talks about painting with light. Using a single flashlight to literally paint the stones. Could anyone recommend a flashlight that would be suitable for this?

It would need lots of power, relatively long throw and as its only a one off job not cost the earth! I can't afford 15 SF M6's :sigh: I was wondering about a maglite with a Malkoff drop-in. Are there any suggestions? I am based in the UK so some kit is not available over here.....

Thanks

Martin

You can use any source of light really. The camera and exposure are more important than equipment. I paint with light using maglites and regular $5 dollar flashlights sometimes.

The length of the exposure is important, as well as how good you are at steadily painting the scene (takes practice). Here's a couple of shots with a $10 incandescent maglite. You can use colored gels as well and get really creative, but this is just an idea of amateur light painting using cheap lights.

This tunnel area was pitch black (the outside light did not illuminate the area well), so I used a mini maglite to illuminate the tunnel way more on a 30 second exposure.

bridge001.jpg