A new High CRI LED flashlight

Rob Brekelmans

Newly Enlightened
Hi all,

I would like to start a discussion about designing a High CRI Flashlight.

I'm an industrial designer in Holland and am working on a special project, which involves high color rendering lights. Sorry, I can't tell you everything about the project. It's in the Concept stage and I have to make a lot of choices soon.
Last week the project took an unexpected turn and now I'm researching the flashlight community. Which I never expected it to be this big btw.

Because of the turn of events my light has al lot more possibilities and therefore a lot more users. Therefore I would like some info from the fans of flashlights. If I build a High CRI LED Flashlight, what would you like it to do? Why would you buy one? (price) Where would you use it? And what kind of specs would you like it to have?
Here are some words for inspiration.

Waterproof
Lightweight
handheld
Small beam, wide beam
High lumen, low lumen
Heavy, small
Cheap,
Long battery life of course.

Everything you wish for.
If the concept gets an approval next month it might be on the market next year.

Thanx
Rob

Last edited:

DM51

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF, Rob Brekelmans.

You posted this in another thread, but I think you were right to conclude it belonged in a separate thread of its own. I have deleted the other post, as it was off topic there.

neoseikan

Enlightened
I like Hi CRI LEDs.
Many dreams about it.
LED projector, LED desktop lamps, etc.
SSC told me they will sell a Ra93 P7, but no updated news.

AardvarkSagus

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hello and Welcome Rob. This is Dave Wise From Luxury Flashlights. I've already tossed off some of my ideas to you there but I'll mention some tidbits here.