Reccomendations - newbie

sybaris

Newly Enlightened
Hi I wonder if anyone can suggest anything. I am a newbie to this. Up to now I thought maglites where the best. How wrong was I?

I have looked a many different brands, from maglites to surefire.
What I am looking for is an alternative to the Surefire E2DL LED Executive Defender.

I have 3 pieces of criteria for such a light.

Firstly, I spend a lot of time working in dark cupboards looking at patch panels and cable risers, occasionally peering in to lofts.

Secondly I am interested in the defense side of it.
I do have to sometimes walk alone in dark areas and would prefer some defense options at hand rather than none.

A) A really bright beam to momentarily confuse and disable a would be attacker. The brighter the better.

B) A sturdy one piece body that can be used like a kubotan for self defense if that would be attacker wasn't phased by a bright light.
(I no longer carry my kubotan as they are now illegal and you are more likely to be done for possessing one of those than the attacker would for mugging you).

Its important that the body doesn't crumple or buckle if it was ever used in such a situation, which I would hope never happens.

Thirdly I am not looking for an ugly thing with a bulbus head on it.
It has to slip in to my pockets unobtrusivly.

I know there are some cheaper surefires around but even £60 GBP is expensive for what is ultimately a source of light.

Any suggestions?

Gunner12

Flashaholic
There's also the Fenix, Nitecore, Olight, Novatac(might not be long enough), RA lights, Dereelight, Jetbeam, Lumapower, Liteflux, Kingpower, iTP, and some more companies you can look at besides Surefire.

For the size, I guess 2AA or 2 CR123 lights could work in terms of length and output.

Look for lights with a forward clickie.

What batteries would you prefer?
What is a good size?(I don't know how big a kubotan should be)
Runtime?

:welcome:

StarHalo

Flashaholic