Bike Light, Solitaire Replacement, Minimag Upgrades

tnforever

Newly Enlightened
Hello all, new to this forums, lurker for about 3 months or so though.

Despite some in-depth reading, I still have a few questions, hopefully you guys will help me out!

First off, and this is the most important, I'm currently in need of a flashlight for biking, since my old one dropped into a lagoon... and I didn't want to fish it out at 10pm with no one around.

1) I ride mostly in lit residential suburbs, with some stretches on a paved, unlit, dedicated bike path.
2) Bike is a generic mountain bike
3) Doesn't need to be weatherproof, on rainy days I take my car
4) Runs on AA/AAA rechargeables
5) Runtime not a concern, I always carry a set or two of spares
6) Regulated, for obvious reasons
7) More flood than throw
8) Budget is important, I'm a college student with not much disposable income...

Currently looking at the E20, RCN3 Q5, L2D, maybe a minimag multimode for general use as well as strobe.

Secondly, looking at a Minimag upgrade, drop in preferred, not highly priced, have heard SMJLED (and something else, but have to refer to older posts)

Finally, looking for a Solitaire replacement, needed for peering into a dark postbox and for use in unprepared situations (I don't sling all my flashlights with me). Have been suggested E10, and a Tank, more suggestions are welcome.

Hoping to cap the limit of everything at $60-75, but my budget has already crept higher from yesterday. Having said that, money really is important to me! I'm on such a tight budget... but the shiny lights... :drool:

Finally, I would like to ask whether it's safe to use eneloops in Minimags, as well as my potential replacements, and where I can get replacement lenses for the minimags.

Again, thanks so much for the help!

EDIT: I've edited the post to refine the questions I'm asking, obsolete parts of the original post are quoted below.