Anybody into Yoga?

bmstrong

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'd like to try but around my area there isn't any classes. Anyone teach themselves Yoga? What books, DVD's or articles did you use?

I'd like to learn, it seems like a useful set of tools for health...

dudemar

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yoga is getting very popular and is a great way to maintain flexibility and health. I've never tried it before, but I'm sure you can easily pick up a DVD that covers the basics.

Good luck!:twothumbs

Flying Turtle

Flashaholic
The local YMCA in your area probably has classes. At least the one that I do some part-time work in does. They are mostly filled with women, if that's a problem, or maybe it's a plus. I've been tempted to try it, since it's right there, but might try the home route first. Let us know if you find some info, please. I've got a touch of sciatica and my back could stand some stretching, plus age is starting to creep up.

There's other more rigorous exercise/calisthenics type classes also at the Y, and you can usually pay a one day fee if you don't wish to join. Might be a good way to learn some techniques to use at home.

Geoff

Last edited:

Greta

Flashaholic
The most helpful book I've found is "Yoga for Dummies". Very basic poses and stretches. GREAT for the beginner and only as strenuous as you want it to be. Myself, I like the calmer, "cooling" discipline of Hatha Yoga. It does what I want it to do... relax me... :)

PhantomPhoton

Flashlight Enthusiast
I get out to 24hr fitness and do yoga twice a week. I also do some yoga poses at home most days on my Wii Fit. I use a lot of Yoga poses for athletic warm ups, especially when teaching adults.
In my professional opinion as a pro Martial Arts athlete and professional gymnastics coach yoga is one of the greatest fundamental workouts that one can do for overall fitness.