• You must be a Supporting Member to participate in the Candle Power Forums Marketplace.

You can become a Supporting Member.

Sold/Expired Maglite 2D kit wanted for P7 Bin c

brisco

Newly Enlightened
Hello I would like to make a 2D cell maglite with the P7 Bin C 900 lumen Led. I was looking for a drop in kit. I dont know if I need a driver because I am only running 3 volts from the 2 d cells.

I am new at this. I want the led, heatsink, Does it need a new reflector? and driver if needed. I can solder and put it all together. If I need a driver I would rather it all together already and I can run the wires to wherever they go.

Please let me know whats available. Thanks.

rayman

Flashlight Enthusiast
Here you go, the Malkoff P7 dropin for C-Maglites. But you have to use Li-Ions.

rayman

donn_

Flashaholic
Brisco has a 2D Mag, so he should look at the D size P7 drop-in, which is in stock.

Instead of Li-Ions, you could use 6x AA NiMH cells in a holder.

brisco

Newly Enlightened
Thanks. The price is too high for me. I am not looking for something that is done already. Just looking for a home made kit. I saw one that someone just hooked the led through the modified mag switch directly to regular d batteries. Will that work or will I run the risk of killing the led?

brisco

Newly Enlightened
Are there any links on here to people that hade done c or d maglite mods and kept the c or d battery for operation?

ace0001a

Flashlight Enthusiast
I couldn't find 3rd_shift's tutorial here or whether he posted one for a DIY P7 Mag here or not, but was able to find it over at Flashlight Forums:

http://flashlight-forums.com/index.php?topic=6466.0