Deceased Cree Emitter or not?

wes_wall

Newly Enlightened
Ok, I am a newbie, but not a complete buffoon.

I read and followed advice on removing an emitter from a star and got a little clever; or so I thought...

I set up a redneck hot air reflow soldering station by mounting my heat gun pointing up. I tested it with my thermocouple hooked up to my multimeter and was satisfied that it didn't get too hot too fast. I then gripped the cree LED carefully by the little square PCB with a very large hemostat. I was careful not to apply crushing pressure. I held this thing attached to the star over the hot air flow heating only the star from underneath. The star fell free of the emitter after about 1 minute. It was delightful!

The emitter has been sitting here on my desk happily for a few days. Several times I picked it up always by the PCB to study it. Never anything more than holding it in my fingers until today.

I went to move it because I was rearranging something and the dome just snapped off. A better description is it slipped off.

Are these things really that delicate? I read about the potential for potting these things on one of the threads. I am thinking that may be necessary for a high stress use as in dive light and bike light.

Am I right? Do I possess superhuman strength? No one is responsible for destroying it except me or does it sound unreasonably delicate to you guys? Of course no one can tell what I did to destroy it, but do they require this extreme handling or does it sound like I had a defective one?

What if I bounce the dive light on the deck of a boat? while underwater? in the dark? Can it be repaired with the super-duper water clear epoxy or is this one fro the 'gee whiz' file?

Myself

Newly Enlightened