Using a Lux Meter without a light box

NotSoBrightBob

Newly Enlightened
After seeing a couple threads here about creative members that have built these spherical (sp?) light measuring boxes I decided to purchase a Lux Meter to play with. I bought the $40 one off one of the Amazon vendor so I'm not expecting lab environment accuracy.

I don't really have a good place to store such a light box so i was wondering how accurate a comparison between torch A and torch B would be if I just use the old ceiling bounce test.

The setup:

A room as near to pitch black as practical
Read the lux meter for a zeroing read
Place lux meter off center in the room
Place Torch A in the middle of the room on a fixed height table
Torch A pointing up in candle mode.
Turn on Torch A and read Lux meter reading and record 3 average reads
Repeat with Torch B
The torch with the highest number is brighter?

Sounds simple but I'm a newb and not sure if/how a floody reflector and a throw optimized refelctor on different lights would skew that number.

Thoughts, comments?

Thanks as always for the education.

Bob

Strauss

Flashlight Enthusiast
It should work to give you an idea of how your particular lights stack up against eash other. It's fairly easy to configure a "box" of some sort to collect the light, then just cut a spot for the sensor in one of the sides.

It won't be perfect either, but should work better than a ceiling bounce.

StarHalo

Flashaholic
You should ask Selfbuilt about this, since he does both lightbox and ceiling bounce measurements when testing a light. He says the ceiling bounce method is more accurate, since it's less prone to be thrown off by the beam profile.

Swedpat

Flashlight Enthusiast