Newb wants a tactical light

Phantomd aka zach

Newly Enlightened
I am a newb and I am sorry for my ignorance!

I have been a closet flashaholic for a long time (I own 6 LED mag lights)

I have recently gotten into handguns and want to get a tactical light, I have read about as much as I can without going over my head...

here is what i am looking for:

-Bright, good throw (temporary blindness starts at what lux/lumens?)
-runtime on high is not important, a low longer lasting setting would be nice.
-Low(er) price is best $70-80 would be about max
-LED, I really like the color of my LED mags
-18650 batteries do not scare me, the ability to use other (common) batteries would be nice, but not required.

I have never seen a powerful light other then my 2,3,4 d-cell LED mags, so if someone can give me a comparison to those, or even what lumen they are rated I could get a good idea of what to expect.

I do a fair amount of camping/4-wheeling so the light would probably get a lot of usage there as well, although I always have my LED mags with me so runtime would be used up there and not with whatever you have to suggest.

"Tacticool" features are not necessary, I am more of a function over form guy, however given the option of equal lights, I would go for the cooler looking one...

-Zach

gmf2010

Newly Enlightened
If you don't mind only being able to use the 18650s check out the EagleTac T10L. 255 lumen high, 60 lumen low. It can be had for approximately $68... excellent bang for the buck, imo.

Zatoichi

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'll second the Jetbeam III M. The E2DL would be great too, but it's a fair bit over your budget.

FlashlightsNgear.com

→Formerly d1live←, Flashaholic
EagleTac P100A2 - uses 2 AA batteries and should be plenty bright -https://www.eagletac-store.com/product_info.php?products_id=716

Phantomd aka zach

Newly Enlightened
The E2DL is WAY out of my range, nice light I am sure....

Looks to me like there are three lights in my range,

Eagletac T10L