Power Car Amp from ciggarette socket?

marcopolo

Newly Enlightened
I want to put a small sub in my car but dont want to run a cable for the amplifier to the battery.

Can I use a ciggarette socket to power the amp? How many amps is a typical socket rated to? I think my renault laguna has a socket in the boot so it would make things easy.

I'm not putting in a huge sub/amp that takes my paint off. Just want to improve my bass slightly. My heads unit has an RCA out for a woofer.

Any ideas appreciated.

Marco.

MarNav1

Flashlight Enthusiast
While I am not an expert on car audio I would say if you want reliable operation you should hardwire it in some fashion. Because of vibration etc I would not use a lighter socket for this. Also do NOT neglect to use a fuse in the power cable. A fire is no fun and can burn your car to the ground quickly. Usually there are unused spaces in the fusebox you can use. Most lighters I have seen are 10-20 amp circuits.

tommylight

Newly Enlightened
I've got 2 reasons not to do that :
1. cigarette lighter socket is designed for short use of 10-15 amps, usually you can run 5-7 amps for long periods of time with no problems, but even the crappy power amplifiers use above 10 amps at high volume, bigger amplifiers draw A LOT more ( my SONY draws over 60 A at full blast ) and so on.....
2. It is a Renault !!!! From my very long experience with car alarm and audio installations, only FIAT had crappier and messier electrical installation. A combination of very thin wires and wayyyy to many connection points are a recipe for disaster and flames and :poof: .... you get the point.

If you plan on keeping the car for a year or so, do a proper install with fuse boxes and stuff, it is costly but you can enjoy your music with no worries.

marcopolo

Newly Enlightened