Your experience with the Fenix L2D CE

-Luke-

Newly Enlightened
Hello, Im new to CPF and Im thinking about getting the Fenix L2D CE as a general purpose light. Please share your thoughts about it. Im looking for a reliable, and practical light within a 50$ budget and open to other suggestions.

aussiebob

Enlightened
:welcome:

One of my fave lights, got 7 of em.

Never had a prob with any of em, totally reliable.

I use 6 of em on my bike, 4 on the bars and 2 on the helmet.

The other one is a bit of a beater, its been dropped, swimming, ect, its all dinged and scratched but works like new.

Go get one you wont be dissapointed.

Gunner12

Flashaholic
It's benn recommended since it came out 2 years ago, so it has to have done something right.

Which version are you looking at? The L2D-CE, L2D-CE Q5, or LD20? If you want to older L2D-CE, it's $41.50 at 4sevens before discount ("CPF8"). The Q5 version is brighter (around 30%, because of more efficient flux bin of the Cree XR-E LED then in the L2D-CE), the LD20 has more grip and throws further (also has the Q5 bin).

:welcome:

-Luke-

Newly Enlightened
I just noticed the older L2D-CE on sale for $41.46 at Fenix-Store.com and thought I should get one while they're still around. Thanks for the reply and discount code.

Stress_Test

Flashlight Enthusiast
That's a great deal for that light. I've got one that I use around the home all the time. Very very versatile.

Don't worry too much about the Q5 vs. non-Q5. As I've gathered more lights, I find that the operation, modes, beam, and battery type are more of a factor than raw output.

Only thing to watch out for on the L2D: As soon as you see the light fall out of regulation (dim suddenly), shut it off if you can. It will run for a while beyond that point, but it'll be pulling the battery voltage down too low for rechargeables, and they can be damaged as a result. Not a concern if using alkaline or lithium. Just fyi, not a big deal really.

-Luke-

Newly Enlightened