Tire Air Pressure Gauge

Russianesq

Enlightened
This question is to the car lovers in the forum.

What is a good tire air pressure gauge to have in the car? I have a digital gauge I have been using for a few years but looks like it stopped working reliably.

Hoggy

Newly Enlightened
I'm also wondering about the OP's question.

However, I'd like to know about a digital gauge that has already lasted for MANY years for someone.

I also got the Craftsman digital about a year ago. My dad says it doesn't work right anymore because some plastic broke around the outer lip. (EDIT: I found out that it's the inner 'tube' thing that presses against the metal pin of the tire nozzle - it looks to be broken up and not even.) But I still seem to find it to be accurate, myself.

Soo - I'm looking for a good, accurate, reliable and long-lasting [digital] one.

(I hope I'm not hijacking the OP's request, but since we seem to be looking for something similar, I'd rather not start a new thread..)

Last edited:

vtunderground

Enlightened
In my (humble) experience, tire gauges only last for a few years before they stop reading accurately. I'm a lot happier just buying a new pen-type gauge every two years, than buying an expensive gauge and wondering just how accurate it really is after five or ten years.

Hoggy

Newly Enlightened
That's only 0-20 psi though.. (EDIT: the one at http://www.motoworldracing.com/bikemaster-06-pen-tpe-tire-gauge.html above) All your cars have less than 20psi tires?? :huh:
I'm the furthest thing from an auto expert, but all the cars here seem to be ~30psi, including my Honda Helix scooter.
My bicycle takes ~80 or so psi, IIRC.

I do have a couple analog gauges that look like that though.. One goes to 50psi, the other goes to 120psi.

Last edited:

Illum

Flashaholic