Deans type connector question.

Parker VH

Enlightened
Hi Guys,
I'll try and explain what I'm looking for as best I can as I'm no electronics pro.
I'm looking for a "Y" type connector to put inline from the leads on a Lipo battery to allow me to charge the battery without disconnecting it from my POB light as the battery will be enclosed inside and I'd rather not have to take off the tail cap to access it. I have Deans type connectors on the battery now and was hoping there were factory made connectors that would have two sets of leads coming from one.
I hope this makes sense. If you have any questions feel free to ask. If there is some other type connector that would offer this other than the Deans type feel free to let me know.
My goal is to have the charging connector mounted outside the POB and then just hooking the charger up to that without havung to disconnect the leads running from the battery to the light itsefl.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
Bob

HarryN

Flashlight Enthusiast
I think you can buy dean's connectors in a Y type configuration in r/c supply stores. If not, it is not that hard to make one up.

Of course, if you are charging a LiPo pack, then you still need the balancing taps connection as well.

If you mean a sort of "hard" connection that is fixed to the side of the light, then perhaps a simple banana connector pair would work better. That way you could have 2 female connections on the light body and cap them when not in use.

Parker VH

Enlightened
Harry,
I will leave the balancing wire external. Not too concerned if the external leads are hard connected or not. Any particular place that I could search for the Y type Deans connector? I bought the battery, charger and original Deans connectors from Hobby King.
Thanks.
Bob

VidPro

Flashlight Enthusiast
http://cgi.ebay.com/4-Pairs-Deans-S...hash=item200323520927&_trksid=p3286.m20.l1116