SureFire G2 LED, need a little help?

realitycheck

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys I am really new at this so please be patient with me. I have a quick question for you guys. I have a SureFire G2 LED, and I was wondering if I put this drop in, in it. How many lumens would it put out with just the two CR123 batteries in it?
Does it still put out the 250 lumens, just for not as long or what? If so how long you think the batteries would last?
Thanks, Chet

schiesz

Flashlight Enthusiast
Lumens factory makes good stuff, so I would guess that is a decent drop-in. Probably well worth the price. The malkoff is probably worth the cost (double) as well, its just a matter of how much you want to spend. Check this thread for info on a bunch of drop-ins.

realitycheck

Newly Enlightened
Which one you think would last longer? I know leds are supposed to last a long time, but as far as all the electronics in it, which is better made. And actually puts out the lumens it says it will?

GPB

Enlightened
I don't know if this is the right approach, but it would seem like if at CR123 has about 1400 mAh at 1.0 amps ( I got that figure from this thread: https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/67078 ) so 2 cells will give you 2800 mAh. The light draws 1000 mA....so under ideal conditions if you could get the battery to completely drain it would last for 2.8 hours. However, your actual results will be less because the cells will provide a declining voltage until it gets below the point where it can light the bulb. I'd guess 2 hours or so....but that's a lot more guess work than actual math. I'm not sure my math method is sound. It seems odd to me that a CR123 would be rated at 1400 mA when a plain old AA rechargeable is almost twice that.

Bullzeyebill

Flashaholic