Please help a newbie pick an AA EDC light

slim whitman

Newly Enlightened
Hello everyone -

I am very new to this higher-end flashlight world. I have an early Fenix L2D with a reverse clickly, but want something smaller for EDC.

My requirements:

-One AA
-Tactial type switch
-At least a high and a low mode, but more would be better

I am leaning toward the NiteCore NDI. I don't think I would care for any of the PD NiteCores, so they are out.

I really like the Olight T15, but I think it has a reverse clicky - does anyone know for sure?

I plan to carry this light along with my CCW, so a tactical switch is a biggie.

Any thoughts from the experts? Sorry to be the newb...I have done alot of searching on this forum but I am not finding what I want.

Thank you in advance-

sw

Zeruel

Flashlight Enthusiast
:welcome:
My requirements:
-One AA
-Tactial type switch
-At least a high and a low mode, but more would be better

Many. Check out Selfbuilt's reviews Part 1 - IV for 1xAA lights. You just have to spot the ones with tactical switches. Most, if not all, offer at least 2 levels.

I am leaning toward the NiteCore NDI.
That would be my choice and recommendation. :thumbsup:

slim whitman

Newly Enlightened
Thank you everyone for your responses -

Marduke, I had thought about that but was wondering how a forward clicky would work with the L2D interface - would the modes change every time I pushed the button?

Thanks again -

sw

monkey1368

Newly Enlightened
I would use a Nitecore Extreme or Surefire E1b for CCW. These are 123 lights, not AA, but the power is a huge difference with not much of a size difference.

LightWalker

Flashlight Enthusiast
The Fenix L1T V2 has a forward clickie and only two modes.
Tighten head for high, loosen for low.
It will work on your L2D body also.

travelinman

Enlightened
ITP C7 $43

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]* LED type: Premium Cree XR-E Q5