Flashlight makes noise when switched on

obokeeper

Newly Enlightened
HI,

I am a relative newbie to this world currently owning a Fenix P3D Q5 and a Fenix P1D.

I have just bought a Trustfire P7-F15 from Dealextreme just to see what it is like. Overall I am quite happy with it, but when I switch it on it emits a whistle/tone. It makes the sound when in High/Low mode but not in Strobe.

Could any one enlighten me (no pun intended) as to whether this is normal or a sign of something not quite right?

My next 'proper' purchase is going to be the Fenix TK40.

Many thanks

Mark

FlashCrazy

Flashlight Enthusiast
More than likely normal. Many driver circuits will whine on different settings, it comes from the electonic components that regulate/step down the current to the LED. Some flashlights are louder than others, some don't have it at all.

StandardBattery

Flashlight Enthusiast
This is often a result of "Inductor Whine", or Inductor Noise and is just as FlashCrazy described it. Remember the noise that Camera Flashes make when they recharge?

It can be very annoying.

Wiggle

Flashlight Enthusiast
It's funny you don't notice it in strobe, in any of my multi-mode lights strobe is most noticeable sound wise.

obokeeper

Newly Enlightened
Many thanks for all of your, very quick, replies.

Lumafist - thanks for making me smile.

All the Best

Mark

Sgt. LED

Flashaholic
:thinking: My lights make noise when they are off.

They keep calling out to me trying to get me to use them even more. :laughing:

Your light, unlike me, is normal. :)

pOkiE

Newly Enlightened
:thinking: My lights make noise when they are off.

They keep calling out to me trying to get me to use them even more. :laughing:

Your light, unlike me, is normal. :)

crackup.gif
I keep my 6P right under my tv and sometimes feel the urge to light something up when I see it!