LED Lenser Police Tech Focus / V2 Professional

milanlad

Newly Enlightened
Hello

I'm new to torches but not new to technology and electronics.

I was looking at Torches from Ledco and was trying to decide between the Lenser Police Tech Focus and the V2 Professional. I couldn't see much difference in technology or performance.

Does anyone know which is a better option?

Thanks

kramer5150

Flashaholic
Welcome to the forum!!! Hope you enjoy this great hobby, its a lot of fun.

I would steer clear of any 3AAA Lenser, they are direct driven and lenser only recommends alkaline cells. They don't explicitly state it anywhere on the packaging, but a Lenser rep admitted that the higher current output of NiMH cells can damage their 3AAA lights. This was discussed a couple months back.

This isn't a knock against Lenser... IMHO any light from any company that only permits alkaline chemistry should be avoided.

IMHO a better direct driven XR-E light is the Home depot 3-Watt Husky. Its only $22, water resistant, tail stands, will run off any ~3.6V cell chemistry, and has a nice forward clicky. HD considers it a tool and has a lifetime replacement warranty. When direct driven off an 18650 or 18500 it emits about 175 Lumens (ballpark estimate).

kramer5150

Flashaholic
I recommend there penlights such as

http://www.zweibrueder.com/ENG/produkte/html_classicline/html_arbeitslampen/v12.php?id=v12

I have one and I like it. Also I should note that these lights aren't made in Germany but China.

x2... I gave my cousin a small button cell type light and he likes it a lot. FWIW, I like Lensers smaller Nichia based lights best. Although I still think they fall short of the Fenix E0 series, SL Microstream and Gerber/CMG lights.

Last edited:

Gunner12

Flashaholic
I'd say research a bit more and look through what else is available first.

What output do you want?
What price?
What runtime?
Multimode?
What size?
What batteries?

:welcome:

milanlad

Newly Enlightened