PD20/LD20 UI questions

pinecone

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to Fenix lights and getting ready to order. I've read about the different modes but I'm not sure I understand how each one is activated.

Apparently you cycle using soft depressions of the switch, right? Depending on which of the positions you have the head in, what default mode does the light come on in when the tailswitch is depressed initially? I would hope for tactical situations it would default to turbo.

Also, how does all this differ if you go with the tactical forward switch module? Will this provide momentary contact in turbo mode?

https://www.fenix-store.com/product_info.php?cPath=27_40&products_id=465

I'm sure all this is all very clear once you have the light in your hands, but I'd appreciate a little explanation.

thanks

Gunner12

Flashaholic
Head tightened = Turbo mode. Turbo mode starts at Turbo, a soft press gets you to strobe, another soft press gets you to Turbo, and so on,

Head loosened = General mode. General mode starts at low, a soft press gets you to medium, another soft press gets you to high, another soft press gets you to SOS, another soft press gets you back to low, and so on.

If the light is off for more then 2 seconds, the light automatically reverts to the first mode of the group. Head tightened, it reverts to turbo, head loosened, it reverts to low.

The driver switches to the next mode of the group when it senses a cut in the circuit for 2 seconds or less. This cut in the power could be from soft pressing the reverse clickie, hitting the light hard enough to cause the batteries to compress the spring and cut the circuit to break for a split second, or whatever breaks the circuit.

To switch modes with a forward clicke, you'll soft press the stich without clicking until you get to the mode you want, then you click.

It'll make much more sense when you get the light. It sounds more complex then it is.

pinecone

Newly Enlightened
Great explanation! Thanks.