Sky Lumen        
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Can I use rechargeables in a Surefire L4?

  1. #1

    Shrug Can I use rechargeables in a Surefire L4?

    I received my new Surefire L4 LumaMax . I got some 3 volt rechargeables ,but in fact ,it's 3.5 volt after fully charged. I'm afraid it will damage my L4.

    Can I use two 3.5 volt Rechargeable Battery ? It's that safe?

    If I use two 3.5 volt LiIon's with L4,does it will damage my LED Flashlight?
    Last edited by sdafxcvws3; 04-11-2009 at 08:17 AM.

  2. #2

    Default Re: can i use the rechargeables????

    This is from another thread:


    QUOTE: "LED Lights / Heads NOT compatible with 3.6 volt rechargeable batteries:
    • SureFire® L1, L2, L4 and L6 Flashlights"
    There are tons of thread discussing about this, you can use the search function...



  3. #3
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    11,876

    Default Re: can i use the rechargeables????

    Quote Originally Posted by richardcpf View Post
    This is from another thread:


    QUOTE: "LED Lights / Heads NOT compatible with 3.6 volt rechargeable batteries:
    • SureFire® L1, L2, L4 and L6 Flashlights"

    There are tons of thread discussing about this, you can use the search function...

    Not so. Only L1 is not, supposedly, compatible with one 3.6 rechargeable. The L2 can run, very safely, on one 14670 LiIon. The L4 runs very well, and safely with one 17670 LiIon. The L6 runs well with two 17500 LiIon's, which can be 8.4 volts fully charged.

    Now, don't use two LiIon's with the L2, nor L4 as that is way over spec of circuit.

    Bill

  4. #4

    Hahaha Re: can i use the rechargeables????

    Quote Originally Posted by Bullzeyebill View Post
    Not so. Only L1 is not, supposedly, compatible with one 3.6 rechargeable. The L2 can run, very safely, on one 14670 LiIon. The L4 runs very well, and safely with one 17670 LiIon. The L6 runs well with two 17500 LiIon's, which can be 8.4 volts fully charged.

    Now, don't use two LiIon's with the L2, nor L4 as that is way over spec of circuit.

    Bill
    Does the L4 can run safely with two 3.5V rechargeable batteries??

  5. #5

    Default Re: can i use the rechargeables????

    help! please!

  6. #6
    Flashaholic* Nake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cleve. OH
    Posts
    1,768

    Default Re: can i use the rechargeables????

    What 3.5V batteries are you talking about?

  7. #7

    Default Re: can i use the rechargeables????

    For surefires you are safer sticking to two 3.0 rechargeables - LiFePO4's to be more specific. An added benefit is that they are supposedly a "safer" chemistry than the regular Li-Ions.

    You get 1/3 the runtime, but hey, you save a lot of money.

  8. #8
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    cali.
    Posts
    3,852

    Default Re: can i use the rechargeables????

    Why? The light was designed around two 123 cells. If you wanted a rechargeable light, there's plenty to chose from.
    There's more to a light than its output.

    CPF Member 13...

  9. #9

    Default Re: can i use the rechargeables????

    Quote Originally Posted by Nake View Post
    What 3.5V batteries are you talking about?
    17355 3v,but in fact ,it's 3.5 volt after fully charge.

  10. #10

    Default Re: can i use the rechargeables????

    Quote Originally Posted by flashy bazook View Post
    For surefires you are safer sticking to two 3.0 rechargeables - LiFePO4's to be more specific. An added benefit is that they are supposedly a "safer" chemistry than the regular Li-Ions.

    You get 1/3 the runtime, but hey, you save a lot of money.
    yeah! I WANNA SAVE MONEY!

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    11,876

    Default Re: can i use the rechargeables????

    Quote Originally Posted by sdafxcvws3 View Post
    Does the L4 can run safely with two 3.5V rechargeable batteries??
    I answered your question. Also, it is two 3.6V's. No do not run the KL4 with two of them. It will overdrive the LED and it will fail if run for any length of time. Just don't do it.

    Use one 17670 LiIon to run the KL4. It will work fine in regulation.

    Bill

    By the way, the L4 uses the KL4 head.
    Last edited by Bullzeyebill; 04-11-2009 at 10:50 AM. Reason: added info

  12. #12
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    AL
    Posts
    1,663

    Default Re: can i use the rechargeables????

    Do you have the new version with a SSC P4 emitter, or the old one with a 5w Luxeon?
    The new one will use a buck converter, and could get a tentative ok, though some converters are still limited to fairly low maximum input voltage. Someone familiar with the converter on that model would have to answer.
    The old one will use a boost converter, and go into direct drive with 2 R123s. It will be much brighter, but you risk anything from shortening the life of the LED to immediately killing it.

    Along with the new/old generations of the same model using different circuits, SF heads are not approved for use with rechargeables by the manufacturer, and they provide no guidelines for their use, or details about the converter boards, so it's not an easy question to answer.

  13. #13

    Default Re: can i use the rechargeables????

    Quote Originally Posted by Bullzeyebill View Post
    I answered your question. Also, it is two 3.6V's. No do not run the KL4 with two of them. It will overdrive the LED and it will fail if run for any length of time. Just don't do it.

    Use one 17670 LiIon to run the KL4. It will work fine in regulation.

    Bill

    By the way, the L4 uses the KL4 head.
    thank you very much very much!

  14. #14

    Default Re: can i use the rechargeables????

    Quote Originally Posted by Owen View Post
    Do you have the new version with a SSC P4 emitter, or the old one with a 5w Luxeon?
    The new one will use a buck converter, and could get a tentative ok, though some converters are still limited to fairly low maximum input voltage. Someone familiar with the converter on that model would have to answer.
    The old one will use a boost converter, and go into direct drive with 2 R123s. It will be much brighter, but you risk anything from shortening the life of the LED to immediately killing it.

    Along with the new/old generations of the same model using different circuits, SF heads are not approved for use with rechargeables by the manufacturer, and they provide no guidelines for their use, or details about the converter boards, so it's not an easy question to answer.
    L4 is my first surefire

  15. #15

    Default Re: can i use the rechargeables????

    I use a single Tenergy 3v RCR123 in my SF L2, with a dummy CR123 cell. Tested it hot off the charger and it was only 3.5 volts. works great.

  16. #16

    Sick2 is this the new version Surefire l4?! 120lumens ?

    I received my new Surefire L4 LumaMax . I'm not sure it is the new kl4 head with 120 lumens . The old version is 100 lumens .

    It's a white dot on the head ,the serial number is B71167.

    How can i discern my KL4 head is the new version with 120 lumens but not the 100 lumens'.

  17. #17

    Default Re: is this the new version Surefire l4?! 120lumens ?

    See here
    Peace!
    Sygyzy
    www.sygyzy.com | Hall of Fame: js, MrBulk, Litho123, Dark Zero, Lips, Milkyspit, StarHalo

  18. #18

    Hahaha Re: is this the new version Surefire l4?! 120lumens ?

    Quote Originally Posted by sygyzy View Post
    See here
    got it! thank you!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •