direct drive versus converter runing time for 5W

Bob123

Newly Enlightened
Hello to all,
I am interested to know and kindly asking you, members of CPF forum (for me famous forum about flashlight) what is better for usefull light working time:
1. LX 5W powered direct drive (for example from 9 V set of AA batteries)
2. LX 5W powered by converter supplied from 6 V battery

I am not interested so much about efficiency of each system. I am interested how long will light flashlight with power system 1 or 2 in full or down to let say 70% (I think that this difference is not easy to observe, if I am wrong please correct me) and later how many ours in moon mode.

Usually for comparison is taken only measuring in lux.

I am a still beginner here but I made battery holder (I call BBH1- Bob battery holder 1) from Aluminium for KL1 and Kroll switch. It holds two AA battery. It is anodising black but type II only. I did not find any company which can make type III - HA near my place. On the tube is (I forget how to named) engraving? for better grip.
Finally it is cheap version of E1x series (I sell few BBH1 to my friends for equivalent of 14 US dollars).
If any body interested I can put pictures. I will make also for 3 AA and for original switch assembly from E1 or E2 series.
Of course most important question is about runing time DD and converter.

There is also 3 possiblity:
3. LX 5W powered by converter supplied from higher Voltage 9 or 12 V battery.
What about that?

Sorry for my english and if I mention something about which you already had a topic sorry for that but I have limited access to forum.

kakster

Flashlight Enthusiast
From what (very) little i know, direct drive will give you the longest run-time. If you use a convertor, you are adding more components, and each additional component will use up some of the batteries charge themselves.
Personally, id prefer a regulated light, and loose some overall runtime.

Doug Owen

Flashlight Enthusiast
[ QUOTE ]
kakster said: