Custom SF Type Body Bulb/LED Questions

mkgunz

Newly Enlightened
Greetings all. I'm new to modding lights but am an enthusiast of lights.

I recently acquired three custom Surefire type bodies. Two are M4 sized but look like the M3 (with the finger ring). The third is an E series but holds three batteries.

My question is, what bulb or LED can I use with the E Series? Can I use a factory E2 Surefire LED head with out fear of damage? I have a Z58 (I think) tail cap already.

I'm trying to locate two Turbo Heads (nothing in the Marketplace so far) for the M4 bodies and already have the tail caps and one MN60 bulb.

Thanks for the help.

Last edited:

gswitter

Flashlight Enthusiast
There aren't a lot of options for E-series bulbs or LED heads that run on 9V, and I can't think of any that are off-the-shelf. Assuming you have or want to use a stock E-series incan bezel, the only bulb option I can think of is the Streamlight TL-3 bulb using one of fivemega's bi-pin adapters.

I don't know if any of the Surefire E-series LED heads can handle 9V. Maybe some of the 2-cell LED heads, but definitely not the old KL4. Modding (or getting some one to mod) an existing head with a driver that can handle the extra voltage is doable, as is assembling a compatible head with parts from the Sandwich Shoppe, etc.

Most of the requests for 3-cell E-series bodies come from people looking to run 2xAA (approximately the same length as 3xCR123A). With a pair of AA NiMH rechargeable cells, you can probably run most 1-cell LED heads.

Ultimately, if you want to maximize your options with the 3-cell body, your best bet is probably a E2C adapter and a C-series bezel. There are plenty of C-series lamps and LED drop-ins that can handle 9V.

mkgunz

Newly Enlightened
Yes I do want to stick with the E series head or something similar. I tend to carry the E2 more than my other lights, even at work, as it is smaller and lighter.