DIY How to build a p7 mag 2C for under $30.

Seiko

Newly Enlightened
DIY How to build a p7 mag 2C for under $30.

Mods I was not sure if this belongs in the homemade lights section or here. So feel free to move it if needed.

The goal of this build was to make a 2 C Mag with a P7 for as cheap and easy as I could.
I am no electronics expert, just a few builds under my belt. So if you see something I have done wrong, don't hesitate to set me straight.

Parts needed.
Mag lite. I love the 2 C I think it is absolutely the perfect size in a hand held light.

From dealxtream sku 14413 ($27)

2 18650 lith ion batteries (I recommend AW protected)
Or the soon to be released AW 26500 (c size) protected

Now you have 3 options for the tail cap.

Buy the 26500.

Orv if running 18650's I highly recommend you buy a Mag C ring Kit from Download on CPF

https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/178764 It will save you alot hassle and is only $22 shipped.

------
If you don't want to spend the money.... I am including directions on how to do this without the kit.

A piece of 1/2" Flexible PVC Pipe found in the sprinkler isle at Home Depot ($1)
Made by Orbit marked 1/2" x 24" Flexible PVC Pipe

You will need a Split ring (like for keys), some bare wire, and a piece of camping sleeping pad or other piece of dense foam.
--------

Other misc parts, wire, solder, soldering tool, multimeter, Thermal adhesive, a few basic tools, allen wench a pair of pliers, razor blade, wire strippers/clipper, a dremel tool or hack saw.

On with the build!

Here is one slight problem that needs to be addressed. The drop in fits just fine, but sits too tall for the bezel to screw down with a lens installed.

You can either, run it without a lens, spend a few minutes with a dremel tool to take about 2mm off of the top of the "drop in", or have a friend with a lathe do it (that is my pick)

3435618927_9916013181.jpg