yet another 3D MAG DD question

737mech

Enlightened
I know this topic has been covered over and over :dedhorse: but just want to make sure this set up is ok before I :poof: my new P7.

3d Mag
1 DSWOI P7
H22 heat sink
3 D "industrial" energizer alkaline batteries free from work! (may also use 3D Tenergy 10000 MaH Ni-Mh from time to time as well)
22 guage teflon wire

Is this a good setup? Anything I need to worry about? This is my first try at a mod so I am worried I am going to ruin my P7!

Last edited:

dspencer

Newly Enlightened
That is the same light I just made. It was also my first attempt at modding a light and it came out OK.
My soldering of the led stuck out far enough that I had to cut too much off the reflector. I will think that part out better on the next light. Do the wire bending before soldering.

I tried the light on some Energizers before the Nimh EvergyON 9000 mah batteries. They are noticeably brighter on the rechargeables.

Good luck. Its fairly easy. I do now know how the switch works after taking it apart to solder the positive wire to it. Next time I'll take the advise in the pictoral threads and solder that wire without taking the switch apart.

David

737mech

Enlightened
yea, there is a lot of conflicting posts on here. Some say you will blow your led others say you will get 4 hours runtime while other say you can only use this bin or that bin ect ect...

Justin Case

Flashlight Enthusiast
Direct drive using alkalines isn't going to work very well. They just can't deliver the necessary ~3A of current for very long. See for example, this thread (look for the graph titled "D Battery Comparison at 3.0 Amp Rate").